Posted in ABOUT KATHAK, INFORMATION, MY POSTS

NAVA RASA

THE NINE MOODS OF MIND:

Let’s start with a very short example Your son breaks your favorite vase! What do you do? You scold him with anger and then calm down. You slowly explain him peacefully, that he should have been careful . Then you hug him tight and apologize for being so rude. And after all this you delightfully get back to your work without thinking much about this incident!Did you notice that your mind had so many feelings bubbling up through these incidents! Today I will be elaborating something similar:

According to the Natya Shastra,NAVA RASA can be explained as the nine different states of our mind. Rasa again, means emotions,mood or the state of mind. And nava, clearly means nine. So NAVA RASA together means the nine moods of mind. Each and every dancer around the world and specially in India, where classical dance have taken such a big leap,learns this awesome thing. I never elaborately learnt Nava rasa but hopefully I can explain it to you guys. Since I am a Kathak dancer and am still learning I haven’t learnt much Of it however in some Gat bhavs( which is like performing stories of Radha-Krishna,and other occasional events like Ramleela etc through Nav rasas and kathak,of course) I had learnt it. In bharatnatyam, Nava rasa plays a very important role. The students are taught these nine different expressions individually unlike Kathak,where we learn these expressions as we learn the different elements of Kathak.

So, now without making this any more complicated lets know these expressions along with their names  used for them:

NAME                MEANING        

SHRINGAR        LOVED

HASYA           LAUGHTER

KARUN         SORROW

RAUDRA      ANGER

VEERA         BRAVERY

BHAYANAKA FEAR

BIBHATSA  DISPLEASED

ADBHUTA    WONDROUS

SHANTA       CALM

Are not you a bit familiar with some of these names? Yes, you are! Because most of these and almost all of these terms derive from Sanskrit.

 

Alright guys that’s it for today’s post. I hope you enjoyed it. If you really did enjoy make sure to hit the like button! Share this post with friend and families and make sure to comment down below. view my post “YOUR TURN” and ask me questions. This post was written in response to Sir Durga Prashad Dash.

Author:

I am a dancer and a student. While I am still learning Kathak,I share my experience and Kathak tutorial. I ain't a really good poet but I love writing.And yes I am extremely frank. Overall I can say that I am a person with both positive and negative attitude. And obviously,I love dancing.

8 thoughts on “NAVA RASA

  1. Once again a great post. Though you are such a young person, I am amazed with the way you are presenting the information in this blog. Keep it up!!. BTW, Can you check the meaning of Bibhatsa. I think it means disgusting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the appreciation 😀 I am extremely sorry . As I didnt know these meanings clearly,I mentioned it wrong. Yes you are right,bibhatsa means disguised or displeased

      Like

Leave a Reply

